On August 17, 1920, fifteen men and one woman
signed up to learn how to grind their own mirrors from instructor
Russell W. Porter in Springfield, Vermont. After successfully
completing their telescopes and using them for a while to explore
the wonders of the universe the men decided to build a hilltop observatory
and form an official club. On December 7, 1923 the first official
meeting of the Springfield Telescope Makers, Inc. was held. Their
clubhouse, Stellafane, was completed soon after.
Stellafane and The Springfield Telescope Makers have a long and rich history, and we are pleased to chronicle
much of that history on these pages.
In order make the information more manageable, the history has been divided into
two eras. Early History covers everything that happened prior to the purchase of the Stellafane East
property in 1987; Modern History covers the purchase of Stellafane East and
everything that has occurred since then.